Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014
Hartford students now have access to the the Troy campus library's databases. You can access the Folsom Library resources at this link: http://library.rpi.edu/update.do?catcenterkey=270. If you are accessing remotely, just enter your RPI id and password.
Please note that the links below are gradually being changed to take you directly to Folsom Library databases.
- ABI Inform Complete (ProQuest)
Key business titles including important full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary journals database with majority of titles peer-reviewed. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further available for over 100 journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
- ACM Digital Library
Full text of ACM publications & bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing
- ACM Digital Library Mobile
ACM Digital Library for mobile devices
- Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection (ProQuest)
Research, emerging technologies, applications & companies in aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices & space sciences
- Aluminum Industry Abstracts (ProQuest)
Index to world literature on aluminium/aluminum production processes, products, applications and business developments.
Articles on physics, mathematics, computer science, and more
- ASME Digital Library
ASME's Transaction Journals, Conference Proceedings, and eBooks
- ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
Standards and technical engineering information covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, & solar engineering
- Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
- Britannica Mobile
Britannica Online for mobile devices
- Britannica Online
- Business Source Premier
Business journals, as well as industry reports and company profiles from Datamonitor
- Ceramics Abstracts
- Chronicle of Higher Education
News articles, information and job listings for college and university faculty and administrators.
- Chronicle of Higher Education Mobile
Chronicle of Higher Education for mobile devices
Nursing and allied health database. Includes articles on health care management.
Scientific literature, mostly in the areas of computer and information science. Provides automated citation indexing and citation linking.
- CogPrints: Cognitive Sciences EPrint Archive
Repository for self-archive papers in Psychology, Neuroscience, & Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine , Anthropology, and any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- Company Commercial Guides
Prepared annually by U.S. embassies with help of several U.S. government agencies. A comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
Comprehensive coverage of the engineering literature. A subset of Engineering Village.
- Computer Science Collection (ProQuest)
Computer science topics, ranging from computer security to web commerce. includes deep indexed tables & figures
- Copper Technical Reference Library (ProQuest)
Literature on copper, copper alloys & copper technology from smelting & hydrometallurgy through the performance of copper and copper alloys in their end-use applications and service environments; properties & performance of copper & copper alloys & applications of copper metals.
- Corrosion Abstracts (ProQuest)
Covers areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance.
- CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Roget's Thesaurus, etc. Useful for translating text.
- Dissertations & Theses: Business (ProQuest)
- Dissertations & Theses: Science & Technology (ProQuest)
- DOE Green Energy
Green energy reports and information, most from U.S. DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Includes info on solar, wind, bioenergy, and others types of renewable energy.
- DTIC Online Public Technical Reports
Indexes Defense Department literature and links to some full text.
Links to all databases provided by EBSCOhost
- EconLit (ProQuest)
An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers economic theory and application.
Financial reports and filings submitted by US publicly traded companies to the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes press releases, quarterly (10-Q) and annual (10-K) reports, insider trading reports, and more. 10-K reports give very detailed information about a company's products, businesses, operations, competitors, and markets.
- efunda (Engineering Fundamentals)
Collection of basic reference information including formulas, materials & design info, units, formulas, & math
- Electronic Library of Mathematics
Online journals, article collections, and books in mathematics
- Encyclopedia of Energy Engineering and Technology
Renewable and alternative energy sources, global climate change and carbon control, sustainable buildings and green development and more...
- Engineered Materials Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts on research, manufacturing practices, properties & applications of materials
- Engineering Collection (ProQuest)
Engineering related full-text articles, millions of figures and tables within articles, & all bibliographic records from the Engineering Research Database
- Engineering Village
Abstracts from Compendex, and also includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
eBook collection of latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering
- Environment Abstracts (ProQuest)
All aspects of impact of people and technology on the environment and effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.
From the US Dept of Education. Abstracts on educational topics. Full text non-journal documents from 1993 on
International patents with information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 on
World Energy Database energy R&D; energy policy and planning; basic sciences and materials research; environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy conservation; nuclear; coal and fossil fuels; renewable energy technologies and more.
- FDSYS: Federal Digital System
Free online access to official publications from all branches of US Federal Government
Official statistics from more than 100 Federal Government agencies. Includes data and trend information on economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more
- First Industry Research Profiles (ProQuest)
Industry overviews with snapshots that include recent developments, business challenges, trends & opportunities, insight from executives, financial information, forecasts and ratings. Also, industry profiles for North American states and provinces.
U.S. and European patent registrations. Patents in PDF format; hyperlinked classification searching.
Financial Times link to public web site. RPI Hartford community, please contact library to access additional content.
- Google Books Mobile
Previews & full text of some e-books
- Google Patents
U.S. patents 1790 to the present; can scroll and zoom in on text and illustrations
- Google Scholar
Scholarly literature from the Web, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities
- GPO Catalog of US Government Publications
Indexes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government & general-interest titles cover global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, & more.
- Hartford Courant (ProQuest)
- Harvard Business Review
- HighWire Press
One of the two largest archives of free full-text science materials on the Web, available 6 months to 2 years after publication.
- Hot Articles
Free, registration required; usage-based service that shows you immediately what is hot in your subject.
- Human Development Reports (United Nations)
Reports at regional, national and local levels are prepared and owned by regional and national teams. They feed into and draw upon the data and analysis of the global Report. Regional, national and local reports have been produced in over 140 countries.
- iCONN Classic Search
From iconn.org, part of the Connecticut Education Network
Choose from an annotated list of a variety of databases
- iCONN OneSearch for Academic Libraries
From iconn.org, part of the Connecticut Education Network
Search across all iconn academic databases with a single search
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Abstracts and full text, including select content published since 1950, of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards
- IEEE Xplore Mobile
IEEE Xplore for mobile devices
Multidisciplinary; references to articles published in scholarly journals. RPI has access to some full text titles.
- IOP Science
Institute of Physics electronic journals
Offers science and engineering handbooks and databases aggregated from international publishers and professional societies. Integrates technical information with analytical and search tools
- Legal Information Reference Center
Consumer legal reference books, publications & legal forms. State-specific legal forms – including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.
- LexisNexis Academic
Business, company, executives, news, and legal information
- LexisNexis Academic Mobile
LexisNexis Academic for mobile devices
- Library Catalog
Index to RPI Hartford collection including thesis records, links to e-books, online journals, and print materials.
Librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Academic and general interest subject areas. Includes magazines, journals, newspapers and newswires, and reference books and encyclopedias.
- MasterFILE Premier
Includes Consumer Reports. Magazines, reference books, primary source documents, and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
- Materials Business File (ProQuest)
Industry news, international trade data, government regulations & management issues related to metals and materials industries
- Materials Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts
National Institutes of Health's Web site. Information about diseases, conditions, & wellness issues in easy to understand language
- MedlinePlus Mobile
- Mergent Online
U.S. & international company data, global company financials, D&B private company database, annual reports, executive profiles, Mergent Equity Research Reports, industry reports, global equity pricing data
- METADEX (ProQuest)
Information on metals and alloys: properties, manufacturing, applications, & development.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Real-time access to comprehensive data & independent analysis on mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, & closed-end funds
- NASA Technical Report Server
NASA's current and historical technical literature & engineering results, including aerospace-related citations, full-text documents, & images & videos
- National Academies Press
E-books on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, & medicine
- NBER Working Papers
Searchable database of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research focused on promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
- NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
Electronic thesis collections from a variety of institutions
- New York Times
- News and Newspapers (ProQuest)
- Newspaper Source Plus
More than 860 newspapers; also television and radio news transcripts.
- NIST Data Gateway (National Institute of Standards & Technology)
NIST scientific and technical data, covering broad range of substances and properties from many scientific disciplines. Links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST Standard Reference Materials and NIST Calibration Services available for purchase
- Oxford English Dictionary
Digital version of the 3rd edition of the complete OED with quarterly updates
- Oxford Journals
Over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas. Searching is by individual title.
- Patent Lens
Over 8 million patents and applications from WIPO, the US, Europe and Australia. Integrates INPADOC legal status and patent family information from over 60 countries directly into our search results.
International and National patent and patent application collections
- PLOS | ONE
International, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. Welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline.
- Professional Development Collection
- ProQuest (all databases)
Search across all ProQuest databases with ability to limit by subject area
Abstracts from psychology literature
- PsycINFO Mobile
PsycINFO for mobile devices
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
- Regional Business News
Regional Business News for mobile devices
A family of web sites including full text of Science Magazine, Science Express with hot research ahead of print publication; ScienceNOW breaking science news; Science Signaling with information on cellular signal transactions; Science Translational Medicine focusing on practical medical advances in translational medicine; info on science jobs, funding, & career building
Gateway to government science information and research and over 2100 scientific web sites
Scientific, technical and management information from Elsevier Science journals and other important publishers
- ScienceDirect Mobile
ScienceDirect for iPhone, iPad, Android
- SciTech Connect
Technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy
- SPIE Digital Library
Proceedings, journals, and eBooks related to optics & photonics applied research from the International Society for Optics and Photonics
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Subject areas include accounting, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, innovation, management, sustainability, and more. Abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers & full text electronic paper collection
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Business and investment information including industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more
- Technology Collection (ProQuest)
Technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering
Articles, key websites, books, latest industry news, job announcements, ejournals, eprints, technical reports, latest research, thesis & dissertations in Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
Product search and contact information for thousands of U.S. manufacturers.
Cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, & related areas from the National Library of Medicine
- TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Collaborative project to digitize, archive, & provide persistent & unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975
From the Transportation Research Board of the National Academy of Sciences, indexes transportation literature