Search the library catalog for books and e-books on broad energy engineering topics (like green building or thermodynamics). E-books have a small red e on the icon to the left of the item title in your results list.
For more specific topics (e.g., life cycle analysis of buildings and use of recycled materials ) found in articles, reports, working papers, conference proceedings, etc., search a library database, or use Google Scholar or a scientific web search engine. Try several for a complete picture:
- ASME Digital Library
ASME's Transaction Journals, Conference Proceedings, and eBooks
- Engineering Village
Abstracts from Compendex, and also includes the electronic version of Engineering Index, with links to full text articles, patents, standards and handbooks in scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
- Environment Abstracts (ProQuest)
All aspects of impact of people and technology on the environment and effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.
- Google Scholar
Scholarly literature from the Web, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government & general-interest titles cover global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, & more.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Abstracts and full text, including select content published since 1950, of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, and conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards
- Materials Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts
A family of web sites including full text of Science Magazine, Science Express with hot research ahead of print publication; ScienceNOW breaking science news; Science Signaling with information on cellular signal transactions; Science Translational Medicine focusing on practical medical advances in translational medicine; info on science jobs, funding, & career building
Scientific, technical and management information from Elsevier Science journals and other important publishers
- USGS Energy Resources Program
News and articles about energy resources and their impact on the environment.