This is the "Introduction" page of the "MANE 6980: Mechanical Engineering Masters Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MANE 6980: Mechanical Engineering Masters Project  

Course Guide
Last Updated: May 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ewp.rpi.edu/mechengproj Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Definition:
literature review

"A research literature review is a systematic, explicit, and reproducible method for identifying, evaluating, and synthesizing the existing body of completed and recorded work produced by researchers, scholars, and practitioners." From Conducting Research Literature Reviews, 3rd Edition, by Arlene Fink, 2009.

      

    related guides

    Engineering Project: literature review

    Assignment:

    Does the chapter include a summary description of prior work done by others on the subject of your project, together with references to the technical literature?    

    As part of your Engineering Project, you will conduct a research literature review of scholarly articles and other material relevant to your topic.  

    This guide will walk you through the research phase of the literature review process.

        
       

      University of Texas Mechanical Engineering Grad Student on the Literature Review

      essential resources

      Once you have a well defined topic, choose a scientific literature database for an overview of what's out there: Engineering Village and Science Direct are good places to start. A Google Scholar search is also a good bet.

      • Engineering Village  
          
        Engineering Village does not have full-text articles, but it is the definitive engineering database for breadth/depth of coverage, and our sfx article linker will check our other databases for full-text versions of articles you are interested in. If you still can't find the full-text article, search the Internet or request it through interlibrary borrowing.
      • Google Scholar  
          
        Scholarly literature from the Web, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports on all topic areas. Articles from academic publishers, professional societies, prepublication repositories and universities
      • ScienceDirect  
          
        Science Direct is broad and includes all scientific disciplines, but its interface is simple and includes primarily full-text articles. If you start with Science Direct, also search in Engineering Village to pick up additional material, including technical reports and conference proceedings.

      additional databases

      Need Help?

      Profile Image
      Rensselaer Hartford
      Logo - Facebook
      Contact Info
      Cole Library
      860.548.2490
      Send Email

      engineering village help

      TIP: Check out Ask an Expert in Engineering Village and email an engineer with a question in your research area.

      science/engineering search engines

      • TechXtra: Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
        Articles, books, websites, industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, research, thesis & dissertations, & more, in engineering, mathematics and computing
      • WorldWideScience.org
        Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip