This is the "The Basics" page of the "Permanent Links to Database Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Permanent Links to Database Resources   Tags: durable_links, permanent_links, persistent_links, purl  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ewp.rpi.edu/purl Print Guide RSS Updates

The Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

tips

Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

Include bibliographic information with the PURL
Persistent urls can sometimes be dodgy. Including bibliographic information about the article with the link will help users find the article in the database if the persistent url acts up.


Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System If you email a PURL...
PURLs are lengthy. If you email a PURL, know that some email programs break PURLs into lines and only make the first line a live link. Tell email recipients to copy and paste the entire URL from the email message, instead of clicking on the link. Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

 

what is a persistent url (purl)?

Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

The URL for a full-text article retrieved from a Cole Library licensed database is either dynamic or persistent.

Dynamic URLs are created when you do a search that brings you to a full-text article. A dynamic URL is temporary and usually doesn't work when copied and tried again. If you provide the URL to others within LMS or by email, for example, they usually can't access the information.

A persistent or durable URL (also called PURL, stable URL, persistent link, or durable link) is an internet address that remains constant. Many Cole Library licensed subscription databases provide PURLs which can be inserted into LMS (Blackboard) and web pages so students can link directly to full-text articles. Using PURLs rather than storing articles in LMS or on a web site requires authentication and avoids copyright compliance issues.

 

copyright

Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

Be aware of copyright restrictions when linking to library materials, or electronic resources licensed by the library

  • Items integrated into your LMS course area or web pages are subject to U.S. copyright law (Title 17, US Code). N.B. Storing documents in LMS or on web sites may violate copyright law.
  • For specific information regarding licensing restrictions, consult the terms and conditions provided by the publisher or vendor
  • The text of your link must include author, title, publication, volume and issue number (if applicable), copyright year and page numbers
 

faculty: Link from LMS (blackboard)

Memorial University of Newfoundland invites applications for a permanent tenured or tenure-track position in the University Library System

To create a link to a library resource within LMS:

  1. Copy the PURL from the database for that article, book chapter, etc.
  2. Insert the PURL into your LMS course area according to LMS instructions.

To access the article from off campus, RPI proxy server information must precede the article URL. Some databases include this information with the persisent link, others require you to add it.

Proxy server prefix: http://colelib-prxy.rh.edu/login?url=

Example: http://colelib-prxy.rh.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=buh&AN=32W2878496970&site=bsi-live

An RPI ID and password are also required for remote login.

For detailed instructions on PURLs for a specific resource, see the appropriate tabbed section above.

Need Help?

Profile Image
Rensselaer Hartford
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
Cole Library
860.548.2490
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip